EU to extend for a year the sanctions against Russia in the Crimea and Sevastopol

The EU Council on foreign Affairs meeting in Luxembourg on June 19 to extend for a year, until 23 June 2018, the restrictive measures taken in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol by Russia. This is stated in the documents distributed on Thursday, June 15, in Brussels for the meeting of the Council of foreign Ministers of the EU.

“These measures apply to EU citizens and companies established in the EU. Their action is limited to the territory of Crimea and Sevastopol”, – said in a communique.

The sanctions include bans on imports into the EU of products from Crimea and Sevastopol, investment in Crimea and Sevastopol, services related to tourism activities in Crimea and Sevastopol, the export of certain goods and technologies to Crimea and Sevastopol for transport, telecommunications and energy sectors, as well as for oil and gas and mining industries, the document said.

The communiqué repeats the statement of the head of the EU diplomacy Federica Mogherini on March 17, 2017, the EU continues to condemn the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol and will remain firmly committed to a policy of non-recognition of the annexation.

As reported, on 6 June, the Committee of permanent representatives of EU countries recommended no discussion the Council of the EU to extend the restrictive measures for Russia in connection with the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol.

Earlier , the U.S. Senate overwhelmingly approved a bill to expand sanctions against Russia.