Georgia celebrates the onset of action of a visa-free regime with the EU

Prime Minister of Georgia Giorgi Kvirikashvili together with members of the government, deputies of the Parliament and a group of students on March 28 went to Athens, to mark the beginning of action of a visa-free regime with the EU.

In Athens, the Georgian delegation will take part in the scientific conference “Georgia from Europe to Europe”. Later that same day, the Georgian delegation will travel to Brussels.

“Today is a historic day for the citizens of Georgia have finally opened a visa-free regime to the EU/Schengen area”, — Kvirikashvili stated to journalists before departure.

“This is a great achievement and a good opportunity for the citizens of Georgia to get better acquainted with the European Union, to learn more about the values that underpin the European Union”, — said the head of the government of Georgia.

“Today, we’re going together with the students in the ancient cultural capital of Europe — in Athens… In the afternoon we will travel to political capital in Brussels, where we will celebrate this great achievement,” he said.

From 28 March Georgian citizens possessing biometric passports will travel to Schengen area for 90 days per 180-day period for business, tourist or family purposes, will no longer need a visa.

The dialogue on visa liberalisation between the EU and Georgia started in June 2012 and ended on March 1, 2017, when the EU Council and the European Parliament signed legislation on the liberalization of visas for citizens of Georgia.

Visa-free regime applies to the Schengen area, which includes 22 countries members of EU (except UK, Ireland, Cyprus, Croatia, Romania and Bulgaria), plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.